Quick Search:

Know about "Shared with me" in Google Drive

Google Drive is a free cloud storage service provided by Google. Both individuals and companies can use this free platform to store all kinds of data. With Google Drive, companies can share work documents, excel, videos, etc. with employees so that employees can access these shared project resources anytime and anywhere and have real-time update facilities. In addition, students can also use a dedicated account to better complete their academic tasks.

What is Shared with Me
What is Shared with Me

Google Drive contains two file storage paths: "My Drive" and "Shared with me", where "Shared with me" includes files, folders, and applications shared by someone (friends, family, and colleagues) to you. Assuming that someone has shared files and folders to your account, these shared contents will appear in your "Shared with me" section.

How to Add "Shared with me" to "My Drive"?

At present, as a file sharing service, "Shared with me" is favored by many users, so it is no longer difficult for users to share data in real time. However, when using this service, due to personal needs, some users would like to save or copy "Shared with me" to "My Drive". In the process, some users may not be able to perform the operation accurately.

In order to solve the above problems, users try to find various solutions, but many methods do not give clear steps. Next, this article will introduce 3 practical solutions, with detailed operation steps attached.

Solution 1. Choose "Add shortcut to Drive" Option

One way that many users often use is the file move or copy option built into Google Drive: Add shortcut to Drive. This method is mainly to create a copy of the shared file or folder. After the copy is created, the user can directly edit the content shared by other users in My Drive (if the "Editor" permission is provided to you).

Step 1: Log in to your Google Drive account and enter the "Shared with me" interface.
Step 2: Select the file or folder that needs to be copied, and then click the right mouse button.
Step 3: Select "Add shortcut to Drive" option in the pop-up window, and then select "My Drive".

Add Shortcut of Shared Contents to Drive
Add Shortcut of Shared Contents to Drive

There is an alternative to this method, which is to use a shortcut: SHIFT+Z. When using the "Shift+Z" shortcut and "Add shortcut to Drive" to add a shared folder to the drive, it will only work if the folder owner has the advanced sharing option "Editor can change permissions and share". If this option is disabled, you will get the unhelpful error message you encounter. E.g:

  • The folder name has been added to "My Drive".
  • The server encountered an error. Please try again later.
Add Shortcut to Drive Problem
Add Shortcut to Drive Problem

Solution 2. Add "Shared with me" to "My Drive" by Download & Upload

In order to avoid the above problems, you can also choose a more boring but useful way, namely uploading and downloading. When using this method, you only need to download the material that needs to be moved to the local, and then upload it to the corresponding location. The specific steps are as follows:

Step 1: Enter the main interface of Google Drive, and then click the "Shared with me" icon.
Step 2: Select the file or folder to be moved, then right-click the mouse and select "Download".

Download Folders from Shared with Me
Download Folders from Shared with Me

Step 3: Then go to the "My Drive" interface, and then select the "Upload Files" or "Upload Folder" button in the drop-down list to upload the data just downloaded.

Upload Files to Google Drive
Upload Files to Google Drive

When using this method, even if the file is deleted or the file owner changes the file permissions, you can still access the information at any time. But this method also has some limitations.

  • When the network status is not good, you need to continue uploading and downloading operations for a period of time, especially when there is a lot of data that needs to be moved.
  • If you encounter some system errors, the upload and download process may be suddenly terminated and you need to start from the beginning.
  • The entire process requires manual operation, and these data cannot be transferred to the corresponding location regularly.

Is there a way to avoid all the above-mentioned problems and support execute the task of Google Drive "Shared with me" add to "My Drive" regularly? A multiple cloud storage manager introduced next may be able to help you.

Solution 3. Regularly Add Shared Folder to "My Drive" (Not Shortcut)

As a web-based cloud file manager, MultCloud supports the regular transfer, sync and backup of data across cloud drives, as well as other basic functions supported by cloud drives, such as: copy to, download, share, cut, paste, delete, preview, rename, copy, etc.

MultCloud
MultCloud

Currently, MultCloud supports adding more than 30 cloud storage services, Dropbox, Dropbox Business, Google Drive, G Suite, Google Photos, OneDrive, OneDrive for Business, MEGA, even adding Shared with me in Google Drive and Shared Drive in Google Workspace separately. With MultCloud, you can easily manage multiple cloud storge accounts.

In addition, MultCloud supports various core functions, such as Cloud Transfer, Cloud Sync, Cloud Backup, and Remote Upload. With the help of these functions, file movement between cloud storage accounts will become very simple, just a few steps. Then, how to add "Shared with me" to "My Drive" with MultCloud?

Step 1: Go to the MultCloud homepage and register an account with an email address. You can also directly click "Guest Access" on the home page to register a temporary account to experience the functions provided by MultCloud first.

Sign Up
Sign Up

Step 2: Click "Add Cloud", select "Shared with me", and then grant MultCloud access to the Google Drive account. Finally add Google Drive in the same way.

Add Shared with Me
Add Shared with Me

Step 3: When adding "Shared with me" to "My Drive", you have two options available, the first is Copy to, and the second is Cloud Transfer.

Option 1: When there are few files to be transferred, you can use the Copy to option. Select the file or folder that needs to be moved, right-click the mouse and select "Copy to" (you can also select the options listed above), and finally select Google Drive as the destination path for file copy operations.

Copy Shared with Me to My Drive
Copy "Shared with me" to "My Drive"

Option 2: When there are many files to be transferred, Cloud Transfer can help you a lot. Enter the "Cloud Transfer" interface, select "Shared with me" and Google Drive as the source path and target path respectively, and then click "Transfer now".

Transfer Shared with Me to My Drive
Transfer "Shared with me" to "My Drive"

Warm Tips:

  • If you want to add "Shared with me" to "My Drive" regularly, you need to set a specific time in the "Schedule". This option is only supported in the Cloud Transfer option.
  • When using MultCloud to perform file movement operations, you can close the page or even the computer, because MultCloud supports background tasks.
  • MultCloud also supports email notification function, you can enable "Send email notification when completing this task" in "Options".
Email Notification for Cloud Transfer
Email Notification for Cloud Transfer

More about MultCloud

With the "Copy to" and "Cloud Transfer" provided by MultCloud, you can easily add "Shared with me" to "My Drive" instead of adding shortcut. After the file is moved, you can edit, move, delete and other operations on the file regardless of whether you have obtained the "Editor" permission.

From the above introduction, you can know that MultCloud not only supports Cloud Transfer, but also supports many advanced functions such as Cloud Sync, Remote Upload, and Cloud Backup.

  • Cloud Sync: This function can help you sync files between multiple cloud storage services in real time, ensuring that your data is always up to date. There are also 9 sync modes to choose from: "Real Time Sync", "Two-way Sync", "Simple Sync", "Mirror Sync", "Move Sync", "Cumulative Sync", "Update Sync", "Incremental Sync", "Full Backup Sync".
  • Remote Upload: "I have e-books and movies that I want to download, but the torrent file or magnet link needs a third-party tool to parse, what should I do?" With this function, you can directly download URLs, torrent files, or magnet links to the corresponding cloud account.
  • Cloud Backup: This function supports users to back up data to one or more cloud drives, such as backup website to Google Drive. When data is lost, you can use the "Restore" option to restore the files to the desired version.
Restore Option
Restore Option
MultCloud Logo

Quickly transfer, sync or backup files from one cloud to another.

Sign up Free

100% secure

MultCloud Supports Clouds

Multcloud Key Features